Renters Rebate Program for Elderly/Disabled
RENTERS’ REBATE FOR ELDERLY/DISABLED
PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION: State of Connecticut Office of Policy and Management (OPM)
Effective July 1, 2013 and applicable to applications received on and after April 1, 2013:
Recently passed legislation (Public Act 13-234, Section 38) has closed this program to any new applicants as of April 1, 2013 or previous applicants who did not receive a grant for calendar year 2011.
Any individual who did receive a renter's rebate for the calendar year 2011 may continue to apply for a rebate. But, if a renter who received a rebate in calendar year 2011 does not receive a rebate in any subsequent calendar year, he or she become ineligible for the program.
State law provides a reimbursement program for Connecticut renters who are elderly or totally disabled, and whose incomes do not exceed certain limits. Persons renting an apartment or room, or living in cooperative housing or a mobile home may be eligible for this program. Renters' rebates can be up to $900 for married couples and $700 for single persons. The renters' rebate amount is based on a graduated income scale and the amount of rent and utility payments (excluding telephone) made in the year prior to the calendar year in which the renter applies.
COST: No fee to apply
WHO IS ELIGIBLE?
- Recipient or spouse must be 65 years of age or older, OR be 50 years of age or older and the surviving spouse of a renter who at the time his death had qualified and was entitled to tax relief, provided such spouse was domiciled with such renter at the time of his death
- Or 18 years of age or older and permanently and totally disabled.
- Must meet a one year state residency requirement.
- Grants are based upon income. If applying in Year 2013, single person’s total 2011 income must be less than $33,500; married person’s total 2011 income must be less than $40,900 per couple.
- There is no asset restriction.
- Rebate amounts can range from $50-$900. To calculate the amount of the rebate 35% of rent plus utilities (but not including telephone) is compared to 5% of total income for the previous year. The difference is the amount of the rebate. Single person’s rebate is smaller than married person’s rebate.
HOW TO OBTAIN SERVICE: Apply between April 1 to October 1 at town assessor’s office. Some towns take applications at their human/social services departments.
TIMETABLE: Application period is: April 1 through October 1
- 211-InfoLine-Connecting Connecticut residents to community health and human resources.
- Care 4 Kids helps low to moderate income families in Connecticut pay for child care costs.
- CtHelpNet.org provides easy navigation to the web sites of the State of Connecticut, the Federal Government & private organizations that address the needs of senior citizens.
- Senior Resources is a strong voice for the region's elderly citizens. Through their involvement at the federal, state and local level we work to enhance the quality of life for older persons.
- The Connecticut Department of Social Services Aging Services Division website can help you learn about programs serving older adults and provides a “benefits check-up” to find out if you are missing out on benefits for which you are eligible. The check-u
- The Connecticut Department of Social Services website provides information on a variety of assistance programs for families with children, elders, people with disabilities, people with HIV/AIDS, and other adults.
- The HUSKY program provides health care for uninsured kids and youth in Connecticut.
- Welcome to ConneCT! - Offering Quick Access to the Department of Social Services- conneCT with DSS Today!